Things I dislike about having Parkinson’s #5 in a series of many

I suppose the problem here lies with the medication available to PWP. To be precise the side effects.  A quick perusal of the information sheet that comes with the implausibly large tablets lists the following “Uncommon side effects”, which they say “may affect up to 1 in 100 people”

  • feeling dizzy or faint, especially when you stand up suddenly (this is caused by a drop in blood pressure) . Check, but to be fair I’m quite tall (6’3″) and have a history of low blood pressure, so it’s not all down to the meds.
  • feeling very sleepy during the day  falling asleep very suddenly without feeling sleepy first (sudden sleep onset episodes) Check. I will often nod off watching TV after lunch or dinner and before reducing the dose of one of my tablets I could fall asleep for a micro-nap between bites of my sandwich.
  • Luckily I have not suffered mental problems such as delirium (severe confusion), delusions (unreasonable ideas) or paranoia (unreasonable suspicions). Or have I? Maybe there really is a conspiracy between the government and the medical companies to silence me. How else can the general lack of interest in my blog be explained?

I’m just glad that I’ve avoided the really bad one.

  •  You may experience the following side effects:  inability to resist the impulse, drive or temptation to perform an action that could be harmful to you or others,.

Some PWP have created debts of tens of thousands of pounds through online gambling and shopping. There are occasional newspaper articles on the subject.

In this context I would particularly like to thank all the online gambling companies who send me unsolicited e-mails offering me free bets, or free credits or other special offers. It could be the equivalent of taking a recovering alcoholic for a drink to celebrate an alcohol free month! Luckily for me I’ve never found gambling interesting except in the abstract, mathematical way.

I’m lucky that my obsessions are fairly harmless.

  • Dr Who – creating motivational posters for myself using images and quotes from the show
  • Dr Who – arranging music from the show for recorder and harpsichord using music software
  • Playing Dr Who Legacy
  • Trying to write information on Wikipedia about Team Talbot Guildford, a basketball franchise in England for whom I was the statistician for in the early 1980s
  • Listening to the same few Runrig tracks over and over
  • Writing this blog that almost no-one reads. . .

So I will be the first to admit that I’ve been quite fortunate here. All I’ve lost is time as I cycle round between my pointless little obsessions, fixing on one for a while before moving onto the next.

 

Regular readers* will notice that some of the content of this post first appeared in my post “Don’t tempt me” on January 5th. Checking the contents of my posts to avoid duplication is clearly not one of the things I am obsessive about!

*This should probably say “Regular reader” as I doubt there are two people who read this regularly!

2 thoughts on “Obsessive Behaviour and Unhelpful offers

Leave a Reply

