via Daily Prompt: Simple

If only we had listened to The Doctor.

He tried to warn us, many years ago (from our standpoint, when the 4th incarnation, in an episode called ‘The Face of Evil’ warned us.
“The very powerful and the very stupid have one thing in common. They don’t alter their views to fit the facts. They alter the facts to fit their views”

Welcome to the world in which we live now. A world in which our elected representatives, Presidents and Prime Ministers tell us lies, which they call ‘alternative truths’.

Like the Brexit Bus or the Trident Missile misfire from the UK and the Crowd size squabble over the inauguration of US President Trump. (I leave it to you to decide if the politicians involved are (a) very powerful, (b) very stupid or (c) very powerful and very stupid.)

Anyway here is an idea for the rest of 2017 – ditch the factual inexactities, ditch the alternative facts, ditch the lies and just stick to the simple truth.

(For those of you worried about my health, I won’t be holding my breath while I wait for my idea to catch on.)

Leave a comment