You just have to laugh…

There is a thing called Laughter Therapy. If you laugh, even if it is a completely false laugh it is good for you., relieving stress by producing endorphins. Personally I prefer to laugh at something funny. I hope this has an endorphin-producing effect on you.

A few years ago, before I had to take early retirement, my much better half started to call me ‘Spiderman’. How nice, I thought, she still thinks of me as a superhero in spite of all my problems. Holding back a tear I thanked her. No, she said, it’s because neither you nor a spider can get out of the bath without my help! (1)
One thing I discovered as a teacher is that if you copy from one person in an essay or blog post, it is plagiarism- which is bad. If you copy from many sources that is called research – which is good. This post has been well researched.
Having taken early retirement money was a little tight so we had to sell a few things. I sold our vacuum cleaner. Well it was just gathering dust. (2)
The pills I have to take have some weird side effects. I have very vivid dreams. Last night I dreamt I was in the olympics. I heard a voice call out ‘take your marks … Set … Then a gun went off and I woke with a start. (3)
The night before I was mumbling about hobbits, elves and wizards, I was Tolkien in my sleep. (4)
Being retired has given me the chance to take up some old hobbies. I found my old boomerang in the loft. I’ve lost the instructions on how to throw it, but I’m sure it will come back to me. (5)
I have also been catching up on my reading. At the moment I’m reading a book called ‘The A to Z of London’. There isn’t much of a plot but the places all seem so real. (6)
As you get older I suppose it is only natural to think about death. When I die I want to slip away peacefully in my sleep, like my grandfather and not screaming in panic and terror like the passengers on his bus. (7)

If you like try to identify the comedians whose jokes I have ‘researched’. There is no prize, and more than one joke can be attributed to a comedian

One thought on “You just have to laugh…

Leave a Reply

